Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience is a group of dedicated professionals representing a variety of backgrounds and expertise. The Board actively participates in the guidance of the Institute towards fulfilling its mission while maintaining the highest standards of accountability.

As a public not-for-profit institution, the Institute takes seriously its responsibilities to maintain public trust and to integrate sound business practices into its daily operations. The Board reviews the Institute’s activities and progress towards its fundamental goal of conducting basic research to stimulate novel approaches to understanding the structure, function, and development of neural circuits.

Dr. Asifa Akhtar
Chair of the Board of Trustees
Director, Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics

Dr. Dirk Basting
Co-Founder and Managing Partner of Lambda Physik AG

Wendy Bingham Cox
Private Investor and Philanthropist

Kleper de Almeida, MD, FACP

George Elmore
Founder and President of Hardrives Paving, Inc.

Hon. David Fischer
US Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco (Ret.)
Suburban Collection (Ret.)

Dr. David Fitzpatrick
Scientific Director & CEO
Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience

Hon. Louis J. Freeh
Founder and Chairman, Freeh Group International Solutions, LLC
Former FBI Director

James W. Harpel
Co-Founder of Two Roads Development and General Partner of First Reserve Corporation and Palm Beach Capital

Dr. Neen Hunt, Ed.D
Hulse Leadership Development Consulting and Former President and CEO of both The Mary Woodard Lasker Charitable Trust and the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, Inc.

Kenneth F. Kahn
President of LRP Media Group

Nasser J. Kazeminy
Technology entrepreneur and innovator
Founder of NJK Holding Corporation

Michael V. Mitrione
Shareholder Gunster Law Firm

Gregory V. Novak
Co-founding partner of Novak Druce Carroll, LLP

Jane Panattoni
Co-owner and Founder of Panattoni Development Co.

Bill Pope
Sunchase Holdings

Markus Schleier
Chief Legal Officer at Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science

Richard Sloane

Dr. James N. Weinstein
Senior Vice President, Microsoft Healthcare
Former CEO and President of Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health

Members Emeriti
Dr. David C. Auth, Ph.D., P.E., NAE,
Chairman and CEO, CoAptus Medical Corporation
Affiliate Professor of Bioengineering at University of Washington (Retired)

Professor Dr. Peter Gruss – Chairman Emeritus
President, Max Planck Society for the Advancement
of Science (2002-2014)

Professor Dr. Bill S. Hansson
Former Chairman of the Board of Trustees
Director, Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology
Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology


Scientific Advisory Board

As a necessary compliment to the operational guidance provided by the institute’s Board of Trustees, MPFI is scientifically guided by a Scientific Advisory Board (SAB).


Every Max Planck Institute is regularly assessed by an SAB. SAB members are experts chosen from leading research institutions and universities. The main responsibility of the SAB is to provide regular evaluations of the institute’s scientific performance.

Dr. Carla J. Shatz
Stanford University

Dr. Michael Häusser
University College London

Dr. Elly Nedivi (Chair)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Ila Fiete
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Mala Murthy
Princeton University

Dr. Yang Dan
UC Berkeley